Skip To Main Content

Austin High School

301 3rd Street NW
Austin, MN 55912
507-460-1800
School Hours: 8:30AM - 3:30PM


Austin Public Schools

Direct Admissions

Direct Admissions offers all high school students in Austin (Austin High School, Austin Alternative Learning Center, and Austin Online Academy) a look at postsecondary options after graduation. Early in the school year, qualifying seniors will receive communication from their high school and the Office of Higher Education detailing the Minnesota colleges and universities they are already admitted to. Students must then complete free applications for their chosen institutions, as all application fees are waived under the Direct Admissions program.

Timeline

Students and families will receive information about Direct Admissions in the spring of their junior year.

Fall of Senior Year:

  • Families will be informed about the upcoming Direct Admissions and the available participation options.
  • Receive your personalized Direct Admissions letter listing participating colleges and universities for fall 2024. Over 50 Minnesota institutions are part of the program, covering community, technical, tribal, public, and private options. Application fees are not required. 
  • Submit your digital letter and confirm which institutions you choose for Direct Admissions.
  • Await official acceptance letters and check your email for any additional steps colleges and universities request.
What to expect?

Additional Resources

FAQ

Counseling Staff

Kris Murley
Counseling Admin Assistant
Registrar
kris.murley@austin.k12.mn.us
507-460-1812
Fax: 507-355-2416

Sarah Schmit
9th - 12th Grade Counselor
Last Names A-E
sarah.schmit@austin.k12.mn.us
507-460-1817

Lynn Keenan
9th - 12th Grade Counselor
Last Names F-L
lynn.keenan@austin.k12.mn.us
507-460-1813

Julie Hale
9th - 12th Grade Counselor
Last Names M-Reh
julie.hale@austin.k12.mn.us
507-460-1816

Bryce Hoffa
9th - 12th Grade Counselor
Last Names Rei-Z
bryce.hoffa@austin.k12.mn.us
507-460-1814

Aleks Bly
Success Coach
Spanish Interpreter
aleks.bly@austin.k12.mn.us
507-460-1815